dracula-proof

C, who, as you recall, remained invulnerable to the contagion from beyond the stars, has a copy of the Four Corners Books edition of Dracula, with illustrations by Sheffield artist James Pyman. Will she turn out to be Stoker-proof too ? Maybe the sly old count can work his magic on her. Or maybe Pyman’s “hazy pencil works”, which “narrate momentary daydreams or hallucinations in contoured objects”, will do the trick. We shall have to see.

dscf1331

Re-reading: Jocelyn Brooke, The Orchid Trilogy. Comparing bits of: Hawaian Roller Coaster Ride (Elvis), Ragged Wood (Fleet Foxes) & Sitting in Limbo (Jimmy Cliff). Don’t ask. I mean, really, just don’t ask.

8 Comments

Filed under pictures, the horror

8 responses to “dracula-proof

  1. I always thought that cooking was very similar to painting–intuition (you know and decades of fucking up) plus imagery from dreams, life, stories, the brick wall, the old photo, a sound, whatever, as compared to intuition plus colors and flavors (an assortment on my shelves that rivals my tubes of paints)
    …I see these photos with accruing debris, these bits and pieces of music, stories, and impressions and reactions…I just assumed that you were gearing up to go off into that slip slidy zone again.

  2. uzwi

    The more frequent your trips into the site–& the deeper you go, the more bits & pieces you pick up (or that pick you up)–the more powerful the shaping mechanisms you need to apply when you get back ?

  3. Dave

    I’ve been trying to get into Fleet Foxes recently. Lot of people recommend them to me. But I just can’t get excited about their album for some reason. I take it you’re enjoying the record?

  4. uzwi

    Hi Dave. I can’t say I like them either. What they do seems a bit too clever for its own good & in the end you go: Yawn, yawn, I get it, now go away… There was just something about the chorus of that track.

  5. Dave

    Glad it’s not just me. I’ve been struggling to find music that hasn’t bored me to tears recently. Recently, when I haven’t been listening to the dire likes of Dylan, Waits, Cohen, and Nick Cave, I’ve been surpised to find that I’m really enjoying Bonny Prince Billy’s Lie Down In the Light. It’s not afflicted with Fleet Fox’s cleverness and is generally just better, but still of a kind.

    Speaking of Bonny Prince Billy, have you ever seen the film Old Joy? It’s the closest any film I’ve ever seen comes to the short story form. Wondered what you thought. If you haven’t seen it, you might really like it.

  6. Dave

    Oops. That should be Bonnie Prince Billy. Not “Bonny”.

  7. Martin

    Fleet Foxes: glad it’s not just me, either. They sound like a CSN&Y tribute band, with a large dollop of the Mamas & Papas thrown in for good measure – hardly stuff to set us on fire.

    Listening here: Dylan, “Black Diamond Bay” and “Dark Eyes”; Vampire Weekend; Paddy McAloon’s extraordinary acoustic version of “Desire As” on the bonus cd that comes with the re-mastered “Steve McQueen”; Shirley & Dolly Collins’s reading of “The Oxford Girl”; and this (I hope the link works) – Rachel Unthank & the Winterset, singing a new year carol that almost stopped the radio show on which they performed it dead in its tracks:

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=1pks0D2xBfI

  8. uzwi

    Hi Martin. I liked that. I’ve got an album of theirs but nothing on it is that direct–reminds me of Young Tradition, back in the day. (Though less… in yr face.) Like them moors too.