plant & proust

In the early 80s I stayed for a few weeks with some friends who lived in Ealing. The girlfriend of one of them was a fan of Robert Plant. She had dreams in which, returning to the flat after work, she discovered Robert Plant there, doing the ironing in his shorts; she also went flying and tobogganing with Robert Plant. In another dream she visited the house of a wealthy friend only to find her sister already there, trying to chain a muddy bicycle to a street lamp in the middle of the lounge. “You can’t leave your bike here!” She didn’t seem to like finding me in the kitchen, especially in the mornings, and later complained that I had been using her milk. Despite this, we exchanged letters for a while after I went back to Yorkshire. In one letter she quoted Proust quoting Wilde’s, “Before the Lake poets there were no fogs on the Thames.” I read this as “no frogs on the Thames”, which seemed even cleverer, if a bit of an overstatement. “Somebody I can’t remember,” I wrote in return, “described Proust as sitting in his own lukewarm bathwater occasionally tasting a handful of it.” She thought that unkind. “Sometimes he’s very good,” she said, then admitted, “but sometimes he reads like a middlingly successful 1970s fantasy writer trying to imitate Colette.” The only other thing I remember about that flat was the cheap plastic veneer lifting from the edges of the kitchen surfaces, which in some places made the drawers difficult to open and close.

3 Comments

Filed under lost & found

3 responses to “plant & proust

  1. anzanhoshin

    You might enjoy Leonard Cohen in the book rather than the album “Death of a Ladies’ Man”:

    sitting in the.bath tub
    watching my cock float

  2. From you careful wording, I suppose that you had been using her milk.

  3. Yes and still smiling at both assessments of Proust. Maybe if I’d tried him when I was twenty I’d have gotten it. At fifty I didn’t get far. btw, I’m midway through Empty Space, enjoying immensely. Trying to read more slowly, make it last as long as possible.