christmas card to the labour party

by uzwi

My parents & grandparents lived in fear. They lived in fear of illnesses we don’t even remember. They lived in fear of illness despite the NHS because they had lived without the NHS. My parents and grandparents lived in fear of losing their livelihoods. They lived in fear of old age, even after pensions came in, because they remembered the time before state pensions. My parents and grandparents lived with fear all their lives, either inside the social and economic systems David Cameron is bringing back daily, or in the memory of living inside the social systems David Cameron is bringing back daily. I don’t want to end my life the way it began, in constant anxiety and fear. That’s why I won’t vote Labour in 2015. I won’t vote Labour because they are afraid not to agree with the Tories. I won’t vote Labour because they are no longer strong enough to represent people who are afraid. I won’t vote labour because they are the dishonest rump of the party that fought to change the lives of people who had to live in fear. I do not take the argument that Because Things Are Different Now A New Kind of Labour Party Is Necessary, and that therefore everything I have said here is “old fashioned class war”. The Tories are bringing all those old fashioned things back and the Labour Party is already behind the ball. By not acknowledging the Tory project–the businessman’s revenge for the New Deal, massive social re-engineering based on fear–Labour has committed suicide not just on its own behalf but on behalf of the people it had a duty to represent. Things aren’t different now. They were different for a while, between 1945 and the mid 1980s, because we had a strong Labour Party, a real Labour Party, but now they are back the way they were. I won’t vote for a party that blinkers itself in the light of that.