The Committed Men, Hutchinson New Authors 1971. In Viriconium, 1982. The Ice Monkey [short stories], 1984. Viriconium Nights [short stories], 1985.

Climbers, 1989. The Luck in the Head [graphic novel with Ian Miller], 1991. The Course of the Heart, 1992. Signs of Life, 1997. Travel Arrangements [short stories], 2000. Things That Never Happen [selected short stories 1975-1998], 2002. Light, 2002. Nova Swing, 2006. Empty Space, 2012.

You Should Come With Me Now [short stories], 2017.

Reviews, short fiction & nonfiction have appeared in a range of venues including the Guardian, the Times Literary Supplement, Time Out, Arc Magazine, New Scientist, the Independent on Sunday, the Daily Telegraph & the New York Times.

Interview by Richard Lea.

In Viriconium was nominated for the Guardian Fiction Prize, 1982. Climbers won the Boardman Tasker Prize for Mountain Literature, 1989. Light shared the James Tiptree Memorial Award, 2003 [with John Kessel’s Stories for Men]. Nova Swing won the Arthur C Clarke Award, 2007 & the Philip K Dick Award, 2008. Honorary DLitt, University of Warwick, 2016. You Should Come With Me Now, Edge Hill Prize longlist, 2018.

Available from Gylphi Contemporary Writers in 2019: M John Harrison: Critical Essays, ed Rhys Williams & Mark Bould, series editor Sarah Dillon. This is the book of the 2014 Warwick University conference “Irradiating the Object” & includes Tim Etchells‘ keynote address.

Contact: all professional enquiries to Mic Cheetham at the Mic Cheetham Agency.

Twitter: @mjohnharrison, but please don’t DM without asking first.


Photo Cath Phillips, 2014